- Children under the age of eight must be in a safety seat, regardless of weight, unless the child is 4 feet 9 inches or taller.
- The law regarding who has the right-of-way when a traffic signal is not working has been clarified. All drivers should stop at the light and then yield to other vehicles or pedestrians already in the intersection. Failure to obey the law can result in a $90 fine and two points. If a driver breaks the law and contributes to a crash, it will cost the driver $130 and three points.
Monday, October 8, 2012
New Maryland Traffic Safety Laws Began October 1
Maryland has two new traffic safety laws that went into effect on October 1.