Sunday, April 17, 2016

MCDOT Installs Electric Vehicle Charging Stations in Four More Garages

The Montgomery County Department of Transportation (MCDOT) Division of Parking Management has installed electric vehicle (EV) charging stations in four more County-owned parking garages. The four locations will each have one station providing service to two parking spaces. 

“One of MCDOT’s guiding principles is to be innovative and forward-thinking, and one of the many ways we are working to create a more sustainable transportation system is by encouraging the use of electric and alternative-fueled vehicles,” said MCDOT Director Al Roshdieh. “We are promoting healthier and greener options by upgrading our infrastructure to accommodate the use of these cleaner, smarter vehicles and meet the increasing demand for EV charging stations.” 
The new locations are: Wayne Avenue (Garage 60), Town Square (Garage 61) and Bonifant-Dixon (Garage 5) garages in Silver Spring; and the Auburn-Del Ray Garage (Garage 36) in Bethesda.

This brings the number of County parking garages with EV charging stations to 12, with the ability to charge 24 vehicles. The other garages with EV stations are: Bethesda Capital Crescent (Garage 31), Woodmont Corner (Garage 11) and Waverly (Garage 47) garages in Bethesda; the Cameron-Second (Garage 7) and Kennett Street (Garage 9) garages in Silver Spring; and the Amherst Garage (Garage 45) in Wheaton.

All the stations are connected to the nationwide ChargePoint Network of searchable charging stations, are Chargepoint Level 2, and accept payment using a ChargePoint Network card or RFID enabled credit card.